Unbridled

When I first received the above race photo, I laughed, and then I sat and studied it and thought about it. As you can see, my right braid has come loose. The left one is still intact. It’s a funny look, and while some part of me knew my hair had come unraveled there towards the end of the race, I paid it absolutely no attention. I just ran towards my finish line. It is a perfect representation of the dichotomy between practicality and emotion that exists within each and every one of us.

Experts say that a left brain dominant person is more analytical and methodical, while a right brain dominant person is more creative and artistic. In this picture the left side of my hair is still woven into a predictable pattern of interlaced strands. It is tidy and restrained. But the right side of my hair, well … it is loose and flowing. There is nothing holding it back and out of the way. No, instead it is expressing itself in a wild, unbridled, and unruly manner.

There are all kinds of people in life … those that are wild, impetuous and adventurous, and those that are practical, pragmatic and sensible. I always say that the best people are the perfectly balanced people. These people have equal sides wild and tame. I call the practical side the “square” side and the impetuous side the “circle” side. The square side is useful. It’s paying bills, chores, traffic jams, grocery shopping, attending meetings, waiting in cash register lines, checking off to do lists, deciphering spreadsheets and tables, etc. The circle side is a nice respite. It’s adventure and fun and creativity and being fearless and carefree. So a perfectly balanced person is what I would call a “squircle.” I did not coin this … it’s an actual thing. Check it out …

A squircle is a shape intermediate between a square and a circle. For those who are curious, a squircle shape is what’s called a superellipse.

The perfect person can successfully vacillate between these two domains.

Distance running attracts many “squares,” I have found. I have had the pleasure of running with people of differing levels of squareness. I, myself, have some square in me, although I largely view myself as a “circle.” I love to create spreadsheets and tables, pore over data (especially running data), research the things in life that make me think, etc. These things could, by most standards, be considered “square.” But I also love to create art and to write. I like to go on adventures and create fun outfits. I like to throw theme parties and dress up in costume. I can be emotional and I’m the first to recognize when I’ve said the wrong thing or when someone is upset. I am a dreamer. To complicate the square/circle/left brain/right brain paradigm I’ve been working with here, there is also this notion of a “Type A Personality” and a “Type B Personality.” The Type A is independent, ambitious, goal oriented, highly competitive, self-driven, etc. and the Type B is creative, fun-loving, friendly, charismatic, easy-going, less competitive, and inspiring. Most of us distance runners are of the Type A personality variety. So, I think we mostly would identify as “square” in that regard. But I have also noticed that the distance runners I’ve come to know and love have quite a bit of Type B or “circle” in them. They are silly, spontaneous, funny, carefree, and love adventures. I believe they are “squircles” Type A/B.

Distance running requires a person to use both her square side and her circle side. At the beginning of the race, the runner must focus on restraint. The square is alive here. If the runner wants that wonderfully magic feeling of wild abandon towards the end of the race, she must not get excited by the thrill of the race atmosphere. She must ignore the desire to run free. The beginning of the race is the time to remember all those pace charts and data her watch has compiled over the 18 week training period. This is all a very square practice. Somewhere in the race, around mile 20 for the marathon, it’s time to gradually increase pace. If those first 20 miles were completed in a square manner, the gradual increase will feel okay. At this point, there is still a very square element going on, for it’s not yet time to truly let loose. Somewhere around mile 23 for a marathon, it’s circle time! Finally! It’s time to ignore the watch. Forget about all of the pace charts and data. It’s time to run completely free. Unbridled. Uncontrolled.

This photo encompasses this wild abandon portion of the race. I am now an ostrich, running fast and free. This is encompassed by the right side of my hair. This is the best part of running. But, it can’t be like this the whole way. It just can’t. Just like in life, it is impossible to be successful without practicality and pragmatism. Life simply cannot be one big party. It is fitting that it is the right side of my hair that has come unraveled … it is no longer subscribing to the methodical braid I forced it into. It is no longer adhering to the orderly, prescribed, pattern. Even my smile, on that right side is less restrained and less tight than it is on the left side. My smile is somewhat loose and feral on the right. It is as if my entire right side has let go. It is enjoying every second of that approaching finish line. This is the moment. This is it. Reckless abandon. May we all have runs where we run out of a braid or two.

Leave a comment