I am grateful for running because running has made me a more grateful person.

image

You know, that truly is what it is. Running has made me more grateful. It has afforded me the opportunity to really think about my life. To truly reflect on all aspects of my world. To think about my family and my home. To think about my workplace, coworkers, and friends. To think about the relationships that have slipped away and to recognize the strong relationships that I have cultivated through the years. It forces me to think about my actions. I think about the things I should have said to people and the things I really should have kept to myself. It gives me the opportunity to think about the kind of person I am. Am I treating those around me the way I should be? Am I a good role model for my daughters and for the student body at my school? Am I a good wife? Am I showing my husband how important he is to me? Am I a good daughter, sister, friend, community member? Am I doing enough? Am I doing too much? Am I grateful for what I have?

Thanksgiving makes us all pause and think about the good things in our lives. I, for one, take too many things for granted. Honestly, as trite as it may sound, running has put me more in tune with the world around me and it has definitely helped me to recognize the many blessings I have.

I get to run. I have the freedom to lace up and bolt out the door on a run.

image

 

Not only that, butΒ I live in quiet suburban area where I feel safe to run for exercise, sport, and therapy. I get to run down the very streets I drive my family. I get to see my town up close and in detail. I am taking the time to really look around at the place where I live. More often than not, I travel these same roads by car in a rush, trying to make it somewhere by a certain time. My runs aren’t like that. First and foremost, I’m not encapsulated by a car. Instead, I’m feeling and smelling the air and viewing the sights devoid of glass windows and a windshield. I’m going into areas that I don’t usually drive, for they are not on my regular routes to work, the grocery store, church, or soccer practice. I am taking the time to explore. I am in tune with the world around me. I am grateful to be running.

Additionally, I have a job and my husband has a job, and we make a decent living and are able to not only provide for our family, but each family member is able to pursue outside interests and passions. For me, obviously, that’s predominately running. I am fortunate enough to be able to afford fun running clothing and gear and to have the technology available to participate in social networking with other runners and enter running related contests.

I am grateful for running because it has helped me to become better and more effective in every aspect of my life. I am, by no means, perfect. I am a work in progress. Running is my time with myself to truly reflect on the things I need to work on. It is also my time to reflect on the good things I’m doing … the things I am getting right. It is also my time to tell myself that everything is okay. There is no need for me to worry.

image

I am grateful for running because running has made me a more grateful person.

17 thoughts on “I am grateful for running because running has made me a more grateful person.

  1. Oh I SO agree with your thoughts! I really think running has made me at least try to be a better person. There is this one lady I know who is just totally annoying, but she really wants to be my friend. She really doesn’t have any friends. Through running, I have found the calmness to allow myself to be around her. And by being kind to her, I’ve actually improved my life by showing myself what I’m capable of! Sounds kinda corny when I put it into words…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree that one amazing feature of running is exploring, and while exploring, being in tune with the world around us. Those are primary reasons I run. Well said!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

