“Willpower and self-control are not magic entities that only some people have.”

“Willpower and self-control are not magic entities that only some people have.”

This morning I almost skipped my before-work run. I had no good reason. My alarm went off in time, I rose and prepared for my run like all other before-work run days. I am not ill, I had enough sleep the previous night, I am not injured. I just had a bad case of the I-don’t-feel-like-running-today blues. I knew, in my heart of hearts, that once I suited up and hit the pavement I’d be fine, even feeling better than I was as I sat on my daughters’ playroom couch listening to the news and playing on my ipad. I had a good three minute argument with myself in my head, and ultimately told myself to just cut the crap and get going.

As I suspected, I felt better as soon as I walked out the front door and headed out. The air was crisp and one of my favorite songs came through my headphones. I decided what I’d wear to work that day and how I’d style my hair. I thought about how I needed to call my father that morning, as it was his birthday. I proceeded to make a mental checklist of all of the things I needed to take care of in the immediate future. I thought about how I really wanted to take a few extra moments to snuggle the girls when I woke them up that morning before I headed off to work. I took a moment to acknowledge how good my run felt. I felt good. I love running. Even when I have a hard time gearing up for my runs and I sincerely just don’t want to put forth the effort, when I do suck it up and get moving, I’m always so proud of myself.

I never regret a run, but I do feel regret if I fail to run.

Leave a Reply

