“National Running Day.”

National Running Day.

Four years ago I probably would have called that a bogus holiday. Today; however, I consider it an observance of a rewarding activity that has given me a new lease on life. Particularly this year, NRD was extremely special, for I had the opportunity to participate in Twitter chats with very knowledgeable runners, many of whom are my idols. I also submitted a picture as part of a contest to the Chevron Houston Marathon of me ecstatic about finishing the marathon the previous year, donning my finisher shirt and a huge, goofy grin. Said picture is below.

I actually won first place (behind the grand winner) in that contest and I could not have been more thrilled. I find it extremely rewarding to share my running passion with others, and I also find it cathartic to record my thoughts about running here in this blog.

So, Why do I love running so? I think mainly because It reminds me of my childhood. The feeling of movement is nice. After an hour of running, I start to feel at peace. After 2 hours, I feel completely free. After 3 hours, I feel transcendent (adj. going beyond ordinary limits; surpassing; exceeding). Yes, transcendent. Time stops. I forget I am running. I began my life as a runner at the age of 35 and I have learned so much about myself in these last few years. For me, it is a daily discipline. I cannot go a day without thinking about it. It certainly doesn’t get easier, I just get better and I get used to the struggle … maybe even enjoy it a little. Running is quality time with me. Even though it can be so very difficult, I truly cannot go a day without thinking about running. National Running Day is a day to observe the power of the run.

Leave a Reply

