“My inner cynic was reluctant, but now I’m a believer.”

My inner cynic was reluctant, but now I’m a believer.

Yesterday I attended my first yoga class at the gym. I was skeptical, but I will be going regulary from now on.

Running a lot without lifting weights, strength training, stretching, or cross training made me succeptible to overuse injuries, and that is the ONLY reason I started doing all of those things. I had a nasty case of IT band syndrome. I had been reading up on how important it is to strength train and stretch, but I just wasn’t compelled to do those things. I just wanted to run. I eventually sucked it up and joined the gym. I was so intimidated by the machines and the gym rats around me. I thought that surely they all knew what a newbie I was and were all secretly critiquing my every move. I could almost hear them thinking to themselves, “Look at that lady. I can’t believe she’s using the machine like that. Gosh, she really isn’t doing very many reps with that little amount of weight.” I kept going, though, because I’m a grown up and I have to do things that I don’t like to do every day. Additionally, I HAD to find a way to keep running, and at the rate I was going if I didn’t make some changes I wasn’t going to be able to continue.

I now do lunges, squats, donkey kicks, planks, hip bridges, hamstring curls, etc., lift weights, swim, and most recently, yoga. All of these activities are making me stronger and I can feel it. These things are also helping me with my running and keeping me injury free. I can’t wait to learn more about yoga. I felt my tight muscles loosening during that hour long class. I don’t stretch enough and that class was essentially one hour of stretching. I can really see how yoga will be a nice complement to keeping my body healthy and injury free. I wasn’t sure yoga would be worth my time, but it most certainly is. My inner cynic was reluctant walking into that yoga class, but now I’m a believer.

I guess the most important thing to remember, in life, as well as in physical acitivty, is never to come to a situation as a skeptic. We are much happier when we approach every new situation with an open-mind and with excitement. Our attitude and approach to life has a whole lot to do with how fulfilled we feel.

Leave a Reply

