“Have you ever had people discourage your running?”

Have you ever had people discourage your running?

Either by telling you you shouldn’t run as often as you do or as far as you do, or they tell you how running will wreck your body? Maybe they even warn you about focusing so much of your energy on your running? Why is it that so often it is a person that knows virtually nothing about running? Why do they feel the need to discourage? Some would say they feel threatened by your physical fitness and success. They might question why on earth you feel the need to run while on vacation; they just don’t understand that running is a part of you, and when you can’t do it, you feel incomplete. You are excited to run in new places and make new running memories. You will feel like you know your surroundings so much more and you will feel more like a part of that community. It isn’t something that we HAVE to do, it is something that we GET to do.

I, for one, need to remember not to take other people’s criticism or advice personally. For me, this is so hard. It is hurtful when I’ve worked so hard and I feel so good to hear why what I’m doing or how I’m doing it is silly. For some reason, instead of feeling good about what I’ve been feeling good about, I start to repeat that one person’s criticism over and over in my head and internalize it. This is not okay. I need to be my own cheerleader and cheer everyone around me on. Enter Twitter & Instagram. Honestly, these two social media platforms have been life-changing for me. I found inspirational blogs & live running chats. I also realized that I needed to be writing myself. Enter this blog. What the writing and the social media involvement have taught me is that I need to celebrate, not only my accomplishments, but the accomplishments of those around me. I feel stronger and more confident than I ever have, and this what I need to remember; not the unsolicited negative advice that I get from others.

Leave a Reply

