“3:08 a.m. Summer’s over. Back to reality.”

3:08 a.m.

Summer’s over. Back to reality.

Picture snapped on one of our summer bike trips to get ice cream.

I am extremely fortunate to be able to have my summers off to enjoy my daughters and to decompress in preparation for another school year. I love my job as a high school librarian, and I love having my summers off of work. It’s so nice to trade my dress shoes for flip flops and my dresses for bikinis; to stay up later and to sleep later. Our days consist of water park trips, long bike rides, snow cones, and salty beach hair. We drive with the sun roof open, attend barbecues, and go go-karting. We browse leisurely at the library or book store, and we read by bodies of water. We lounge around in the air conditioning and often don’t feel the need to rush anywhere for anything. In short, we enjoy each other and our vacation time.

Running in the summer is so very difficult.

I recently wrote about how hard it is to run in the summer and how easy it is to become discouraged. This is so very true. Summer in Houston, Texas is definitely hot, humid, and downright oppressive … especially in late July and August. Despite the heat, I love living in the Houston suburb of Friendswood, Texas … even in the summer. We are fortunate enough to have easy access to water and recreation, and we have a ball in the summer. I especially enjoy how we all stay up a little later and sleep in longer. I enjoy leaving for a morning run as late as 7:00 a.m. What a treat! I could never leave for a morning run during the school year as late as 7:00!

Daughter Callie (11) doing what she loves.

During the school year I must go to bed by 9:00 p.m. and rise by 3:08 a.m. I must do this so that I can leave for my morning run by 3:50 a.m., get to my home strength training and stretching by 4:25 a.m., and leave for school by 5:50 a.m. so that I can open my school library by 6:15 a.m. Honestly, I’m getting tired just thinking about my soon-to-be schedule. As crazy as that schedule sounds, I wouldn’t have it any other way. During the school year my daughters are involved in numerous after school activities. Once they get home from school we are hitting the homework, preparing for the next school day, eating the dinner I rushed home from work to prepare, and traveling to church, the soccer field, or wherever else the girls need to be that day. I love being involved with all of our family after school activities, but this also means that I don’t have a lot of time for myself after school. I also happen to be a morning person, so getting up extra early to workout makes the most sense to me.

Daughter Brynn (9 1/2) on one of our summer bike trips to the park.

So, I am ready to start my crazy schedule, but I’d be lying if I said that I wouldn’t miss staying up until 10:00 p.m. cuddling with my family and waking up around 6:30 to leave for a 7:00 a.m. run. I will miss the more relaxed schedules we have in the summer and the lack of homework for the girls and work email and projects for me. I will miss our summer freedom, but I am also excited to start another school year in a job I love and with people I truly care about. I’m excited for my daughter starting junior high school and my daughter starting intermediate school. I’m excited for the upcoming sports seasons, holidays, and milder weather. I am excited for my intensive marathon training, and before I know it, another summer will be here. So, I’ll see some later nights and mornings come Thanksgiving break … so until November 23rd, I’ll be back at the grind.

Plus, this means pumpkin spiced everything is about to hit the stores.

2 thoughts on ““3:08 a.m. Summer’s over. Back to reality.”

Leave a Reply

